Journey of 100,000 miles (Post #2)

20180112_094624 (2)

Above is a picture I took yesterday. As you can see its the dash of my car where the digital odometer, speedometer, and RPM meter thingy (actual technical term) are all located. Okay so apparently the RPM gauge is called a “tachometer”. I just looked it up since the other two had fancy names and I figured it probably did too. Now that I sound like I know what I’m talking about, I want to point out why I took the picture. My car had just hit 100,000 miles. I wanted to capture the moment. It was one I was somewhat dreading since passing the mileage threshold into the hundred thousands makes it sound like your car is really old, not to mention my cars warranty would expire after 100k. There are some interesting things I’ve reflected on as a result. This is the journey of 100,000 miles, one that began with me putting my foot to the pedal. 

One thing I found pretty crazy is that I had already racked up that many miles in 5 short years. Part of me is somewhat sad about this, but the other and more important part is smiling thinking back on the incredible memories I’ve made. Some people never want to take their car out because they fear it will lose value by being driven. The truth is its value is in it being driven. If you aren’t willing to sacrifice mileage for experience, then you’re going to spend your life in the garage. I bought the car with 50 miles on it. Back then I had no idea what the future could possibly have in store for the 5 years that would follow. I didn’t know where I was going to go but I knew how I was going to get there, in my new 2012 Hyundai Veloster.  I wasn’t ready to buy it when I did, but my dad forced me to. This may sound a little strange so let me briefly explain. Shortly after coming clean to my parents about my crippling drug addiction, they put me into a rehabilitation program. After finishing it and getting clean my dad thought it would be a good idea for me to buy a new car and have a large chunk of my paycheck going towards something that would be a good investment. Not to mention it would help eliminate  the temptation I would have gotten having that much extra money every paycheck. I’m glad my dad had me buy it, because its turned out to be a great investment. I guess parents sometimes sorta know whats best for you…or something like that.

Often in life the most pivotal moments go by unnoticed. Its unfortunate really, yet something we cannot escape. Its true what they say, hindsight is 20/20. The magnitude of a moment is never fully grasped until its ripple effect reaches you at a point you’re ready to receive it. I’ve seen this to be true in my life time and time again. The ripple effect of buying my car and reaching 100k is starting to sink in. I drove this car the night I had an overdose that God would use to forever change my life and turn me to Jesus. I drove this car the day I picked up Ashley for our first date. And it was this car I drove down to Florida where I would go on to ask her to spend the rest of her life with me. I’ve driven it to parties, to funerals, to vacations, to work, to church, to the gym, and an endless list of other places. With all the ups and downs I’ve experienced these past 5 years my car has been more of a roller coaster than a vehicle. One in which unknowingly God has had the safety bar firmly pulled down across my waist for me to hold onto safely as I went through its twists and turns.

The odometer read 100,000 only for a moment, until the next mile was quickly traveled. It came and went. As insignificant as it seemed, it served a profound purpose. God caused me to think back on the miles and memories. He caused me to appreciate a moment that I was negatively anticipating. It may have been the end of my warranty, but in a sense it was the beginning of the next chapter in my journey. A chapter that will undoubtedly be marked by gratitude and wonder. Gratitude towards Jesus for doing so much in my life over the last 100,000 miles. Wonder towards the unknown possibilities and roads yet to be traveled. Our cars shouldn’t be measured by the miles they’ve traveled, but by the memories the miles made. And let me let you in on a little secret, miles fly on by so make sure to stop and smell the gas fumes (not literally, cut me some slack its the best I could come up with). When was the last time you stopped to look at your life’s odometer? When was the last time you left the garage to just drive without worrying about the miles, gas, or time it would take? The journey of 100,000 miles begins with placing your foot on the gas pedal. I hope this has shined some light for the road ahead!

Leave a comment